Retrieving Trial Dog of the Year Rules

Moderator: Peter Butterfield

Retrieving Trial Dog of the Year Rules

Postby Jason Ferris » Mon 28 Aug 2006 5:18 pm

Hi all

I have just posted up a document which describes the rules for the Retrieving Trial Dog of the Year competition. The text is below. It is also in a pdf version at:

Thanks to Noel Eltringham for hunting down the original Victorian Dog of the Year rules on which the national competition's rules are based.

Cheers, Jason.


Australian Working Retriever Central
Retrieving Trial Dog of the Year

The purpose of the award is to recognise the Retrieving Trial Dog which most consistently wins or places in retrieving trials over the course of a calendar year.

Registered gundogs competing in Novice, Restricted, All Age and Championship Retrieving Trial Stakes conducted under the ANKC Rules for the Conduct of Retrieving Trials (effective Jan 2005) are awarded points for First, Second and Third places as follows:

Championship Stake First 12, Second 11, Third 10
All Age Stake First 9, Second 8, Third 7
Restricted Stake First 6, Second 5, Third 4
Novice Stake First 3, Second 2, Third 1

Points are not awarded for events that have not been sanctioned by the State controlling bodies (eg sweepstakes) or for events that are not open to all Gundog breeds in group three.

The results are compiled based on results published on the Australian Working Retriever Central Bulletin Board website ( and must be able to be verified.

The Moderator of the AWRC website (or delegate) will calculate the winner of the Award.

Notification of the winning dog will be published on the AWRC.
Jason Ferris
Board Admin
Posts: 989
Joined: Mon 05 May 2003 1:04 pm
Location: Canberra region, New South Wales

Return to 2006

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest